Annual Awards

The South West Volleyball Association appreciates the importance of volunteers in our sport and the huge contribution they make.

The Annual Awards go a little way to recognise their contribution and we hope that clubs and members will nominate those who they believe have put in their time and energy to assure the future development of volleyball.

All nominees for volunteer awards must be part of an affiliated club or association. Nominees for the coach or referee awards must be currently registered Volleyball England Coaches or Referees (or have recently retired from long-standing registration / membership).

Nominators must follow guidelines given on the sheets which can be downloaded from the website as well as providing any additional relevant information that may apply.

Award categories:

  • Doreen Dingle Administrator Award
  • Bert Williams Referee Award
  • SW Coach Award
  • Commitment to SW Volleyball Award
  • SW Contribution to Volleyball Award (U25)


SWVA Awards 2019

2019 Doreen Dingle Award for administration – Cliff Ball

Cliff has been a long-term administrator with the South West VA and Wiltshire VA plus recent work on the National scene with Children and Young Persons development.


Cliff Ball (left) receiving the Doreen Dingle award from SWVA Representative Tim Clifford

2019 Bert Williams Referees Award – Daniel Sarnik



Dan is a regular referee at SW Champs and progressing through the NVL structure with recent Division One Matches and the SW Champs Final.



2019 Coaches Award – Dave Gunter


Dave has given a tremendous commitment to coaching over the last few years with the South West VA, Wessex VC Juniors & Senior teams, VE Staff Tutor and Southampton Solent University.




2019 Commitment to SW Volleyball – Ros Sutherland


Ros Sutherland has been one of longest serving members of the SWVA coaching teams as well as her development work in the region and her local East Devon area.


Ros Sutherland receiving the SW Commitment award from SWVA Chairman Dave Reece

2019 Contribution to SW Volleyball (U25) – Immy Dawes

Immy has been assisting and coaching junior sessions in the SWVA and the Academy of Beach Sport during the last 10 years.

Managing a range of athletes and supporting their parents on their journey through the sport.

Immy Dawes receiving the SW Contribution award from SWVA Representative Tim Clifford

SWVA Awards 2018

2018 Doreen Dingle Award for administration – Neil Bentley

Awarded to Neil for his work with the SW Junior Squads for the last two seasons. A lot of back ground admin work for our Junior Training sessions and organising the big weekend away for everyone at the Inter Region Championships.

2018 Bert Williams Referees Award – Jacky Pang

2018 Coaches Award – Phil Gorton

2018 Commitment to SW Volleyball – Chris Beer

2018 Contribution to SW Volleyball (U25) – Luis Stanbury


A new award this year to reward and to celebrate the contribution of our younger members in the sport.

Our first winner is Luis Stanbury for his work with the SW Junior squads and the volleyball program in Plymouth.


Annual Awards – Past Years